Travel::Kids::Tech::Foreign Service

Weekly food post

Due to political reasons, the market was full on Inauguration Day.  There was even sugar, for the first time in months.  I loaded up at the store and have been cooking and freezing stuff for when the food disappears again.

I also received a Zoku pop maker that I’d ordered a while back. Mal loves some of the fruits and veggies (Chilean apples, broccoli, watermelon, and pineapple), but won’t touch the leafy greens, anything squash or root-like, or the citrus. I have to say, there are no lemons here but the oranges are a better substitute than the limes, they are so tart.  So my plan is to make veggie/fruit/yogurt smoothies and make those into popsicles.

Random branding notes:  The chocolate powder to mix into milk is called Toddy, and the box fruit juice is Yuky.

OK, two quick recipes that I made this week:

Garlic Clams

I’ve been trying for years to recreate the garlic clams that I got all the time in Panama, but I haven’t found the right kind of clams in the States, or gotten the sauce right.  The clams should be about the size of superballs, with grey rounded shells.  I thought maybe the chipi-chipis here would work, but as I remember digging them and playing with them on Gulf beaches as a kid, I can’t eat them (we called them coquinas).  However, I found the perfect clams this week, so here’s what I did with them, and it’s pretty good.  All amounts are approximate as I totally pantsed it.

  • 1 kilo small clams, scrubbed and open ones discarded
  • about a tbsp of olive oil
  • garlic (I used about 12-15 cloves of the tiny red Venezuelan garlic; maybe 3-4 cloves or to taste), minced or pressed
  • about 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1.5 tablespoons butter (the only butter I can find is salted but unsalted would be better so you could add your own salt)
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

Saute the garlic in the olive oil in a dutch oven, then add the wine and reduce by about half.  Add the clams, cover, and steam until they start to open.  Add the butter and steam until they fully open, shaking occasionally to distribute the butter and juice.  Don’t use any of the clams that don’t open.  Serve by putting the clams into the serving bowls, spooning the broth over, and sprinkling with parsley.

Fake Korean BBQ Chicken Wings (link the to recipe I found on Food.com).  This was a HUGE hit with the family.  Served with white rice and green beans.  We saved the leftover sauce for another use, probably more chicken if I can find it.

 

Leave a Reply

